EdgeSwitch & EdgeSwitch X - How to Add VLANs


Overview


Readers will learn how to add VLANs to an EdgeSwitch or EdgeSwitch X.

NOTES & REQUIREMENTS: 
Applicable to the latest firmware on all EdgeSwitch and EdgeSwitch X models. Please see the Related Articles below for more information.
 
Devices used in this article:

Table of Contents


  1. Adding VLANs to the EdgeSwitch
  2. Assigning the VLANs to the Ports
  3. Deleting VLANs from the EdgeSwitch
  4. Related Articles

Adding VLANs to the EdgeSwitch


Back to Top

topology.png

The first step is to log into EdgeSwitch Web UI and add the necessary VLANs.


GUI: Access the EdgeSwitch Web UI.

1. Navigate to the VLANs  vlans.png  to add the VLANs to the EdgeSwitch. In this example, VLAN10 and VLAN20 are added.

VLANs > New VLAN ID

newvlanid.png

2. Fill in 10 and select the  plus.png  icon to add the VLAN.

3. Fill in 20 and select the  plus.png  icon to add the VLAN.

4. Apply the changes. 


Assigning the VLANs to the Ports


Back to Top

Now that the VLANs have been added, we can assign the VLANs to the interfaces in order to place hosts in certain VLANs. To do this, we need to change the default Excluded (E) port VLAN setting to Untagged (U).

In this example, the client connected to port 5 will be placed in VLAN10, whereas the client connected to port 7 is placed in VLAN20.

1. Untag the necessary VLANs on the relevant switch-ports.

  • Uncheck the TRUNK PORTS checkbox on port 5 and 7.
  • Under port 5 and port 7, change the default VLAN1 from Untagged (U) to Excluded (E).
  • Under port 5, change VLAN10 from Excluded (E) to Untagged (U).
  • Under port 7, change VLAN20 from Excluded (E) to Untagged (U).
NOTE: The management VLAN ID can be changed in the Settings  settings.png  tab.

2. Apply the changes by clicking on the APPLY button.


Deleting VLANs from the EdgeSwitch


Back to Top

If VLANs need to be removed from the switch, we can use the delete  delete.png  button.

WARNING: This action is irreversible!

Related Articles


Back to Top

EdgeSwitch - Backup and Restore Configuration


We're sorry to hear that!