TOUGHSwitch - Support for Quality of Service (QoS)


TOUGHSwitch models support Layer 2 (802.1p) and Layer 3 (DSCP) Quality of Service (QoS). 

In order for TOUGHSwitch to classify and differentiate types of traffic when applying QoS rules, the traffic must have a special value set in the IP Header DSCP field. The originating software or hardware device is responsible for applying this value, and only if this field is set will traffic be prioritized.

There are four traffic categories: Best Effort, Background, Video, and Voice, which range from priorities lowest to highest in that order.

By default, all traffic is classified as "Best Effort", meaning there is no prioritization applied. The other categories can be defined with the following values:

802.1p Class of ServiceTOS RangeDSCP RangeWME Category
0 - Best Effort 0x00-0x1f 0-7 Best Effort
1 - Background 0x20-0x3f 8-15 Background
2 - Spare 0x40-0x5f 16-23 Background
3 - Excellent Effort 0x60-0x7f 24-25, 28-31 Best Effort
4 - Controlled Load 0x80-0x9f 32-39 Video
5 - Video (<100ms latency) 0xa0-0xbf 40-45 Video
6 - Voice (<10ms latency) 0x68, 0xb8, 0xc0-0xdf 26-27, 46-47, 48-55 Voice
7 - Network Control 0xe0-0xff 56-63 Voice
We're sorry to hear that!